Minutes Land Committee

2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, S. E. Suite 1252 East Tower
Atlanta, GA 30334

February 28, 2018

Attending:

Committee Members

Dwight Davis, Chairman

William Bagwell Dwight Evans Ray Lambert Rob Leebern

Brother Stewart

Aaron McWhorter, Board Chairman, Ex-Officio

Board Members

Nancy Addison Duncan Johnson

Mark Mobley - Via Conference Call

Bodine Sinyard Miki Thomaston Philip Watt Philip Wilheit

Guests

Ronnie Just, Georgia Power Rosa Chi, Georgia Power

Bill Hodges, Hodges, Harbin, Newberry & Tribble

Leon Watkins, Whitestone Valley Landfill

David Word, Tanner & Associates

Debbie Philips, Georgia Industry Environmental Coalition

Staff Members

Mark Williams, Commissioner

Terry West Walter Rabon **Kyle Pearson** Wes Robinson Melanie Johnson Cathy Barnette **Amber Carter** Artica Gaston **Dave Crass Rusty Garrison Doug Haymans Eddie Henderson Becky Kelley** Steve Friedman **Thomas Barnard** Antoinette Norfleet

Richard Dunn, Director

Larry Blankenship Daniel Brown

Lauren Curry
Jac Capp
Jeff Cown
Karen Hays
Chuck Mueller
Laura Williams
Sydney Brogden
Erin Ruoff
Donald Kirkland
Bert Langley
Jim Cooley
Dika Kuoh
Sarah Visser
Elizabeth Munsey
Eric Cornwell

Minutes – Land Committee February 28, 2018 Page 2

The February 28, 2018 meeting of the Land Committee was called to order by Chairman McWhorter.

Chairman McWhorter called on Dwight Davis, Chairman of the Land Committee.

Chairman Davis called on Mr. Steve Friedman.

Mr. Friedman stated that Item A seeks the granting of a Revocable License Agreement and Permanent Easement of up to 0.08± acres by the State Properties Commission and General Assembly to North Georgia EMC at Arrowhead Wildlife Management Area in Floyd County. Mr. Friedman added that the land would be used to install underground power for a new office building that is being built. He further stated that the property is Heritage Preserve designated but that this agreement falls within the allowed usage, meaning a Change of Use policy is not needed. Mr. Friedman also stated that since the easement is for the benefit of the Department, it should be granted at no cost.

A motion was made by Mr. Evans, seconded by Mr. Stewart, and carried unanimously that the Committee recommend the Board grant a Revocable License Agreement and Permanent Easement of up to 0.08± acres by the State Properties Commission and General Assembly to North Georgia EMC at Arrowhead Wildlife Management Area, Floyd County, as presented.

Mr. Friedman stated that item B seeks the granting of a Revocable License Agreement of up to 0.3± acres by the State Properties Commission to White County at Smithgall Woods State Park to pave Joe Franklin Road in White County. Mr. Friedman added that widening the road will be for the benefit of the park, as the road is used by park staff for management and maintenance. He further stated that the road widening would not be on the park side, but that the county will need access to the park to grade the road and install drainage pipes. Mr. Friedman went on to say that this area does fall under a Heritage Preserve designation but that the project is an allowed usage, so a Change of Use policy is not needed. Mr. Friedman added that since the easement is for the benefit of the Department, it should be granted at no cost.

A motion was made by Mr. Bagwell, seconded by Mr. Stewart, and carried unanimously that the Committee recommend the Board grant a Revocable License Agreement of up to 0.3± acres by the State Properties Commission to White County at Smithgall Woods State Park to pave Joe Franklin Road, White County, as presented.

Mr. Friedman provided an update on the Robins Air Force Base project and recognized Daniel Brown for his hard work.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.