Minutes Environmental Protection Committee 2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, S. E. Suite 1252 East Tower Atlanta, GA 30334

> August 25, 2020 9:00 a.m. Via Teleconference Call

Attendees:

Committee Members

Ray Lambert, Chair Dwight Evans, Vice Chair Nick Ayers William Bagwell Dwight Davis Mike Phelps Paul Shailendra Bodine Sinyard Brother Stewart Dee Yancey Nancy Addison, Board Chair, Ex-officio

Board Members

Patrick Denney Joe Hatfield Duncan Johnson Bill Jones Rob Leebern Tim Lowe Billy New Miki Thomaston

Staff Members

- Mark Williams, Commissioner Walter Rabon Kyle Pearson Kate Iannuzzi Josh Hildebrandt Cathy Barnette Artica Gaston Courtney Hall Thomas Barnard Jeff Cown Steve Friedman Rusty Garrison Doug Haymans
- Richard Dunn, Director Lauren Curry Jac Capp Karen Hays Chuck Mueller Laura Williams

Minutes – Environmental Protection Committee August 25, 2020 Page 2

The August 25, 2020 meeting of the Environmental Protection Committee was called to order by Chair Nancy Addison.

Chair Addison called on Ray Lambert, Chairman of the Environmental Protection Committee. Mr. Lambert called on Chuck Mueller, Chief of the Land Protection Branch, to present the Proposed Amendments to the Rules for Hazardous Waste Management, Chapter 391-3-11.

Mr. Mueller stated to retain primacy for its hazardous waste program, EPD must periodically update its Hazardous Waste Management Rules to reflect new federal regulations. He further stated the proposed rulemaking will adopt regulations published by the USEPA through December 9, 2019. He added the proposed updates incorporate federal regulations by reference.

Mr. Mueller stated the only update to be included is to change the regulatory status of spent aerosol cans from a hazardous waste to a universal waste. He further stated the update creates a new category of universal waste which allows generators the option to manage hazardous waste aerosol cans under a more streamlined set of regulations. He added the change will ease regulatory burden on businesses, promote recycling, and encourage development of programs to reduce the quantity of waste going to landfills.

Mr. Mueller stated the briefing of the Environmental Committee was held at the April 28th meeting, a public hearing was held on June 10, and the public comment period closed July 1. He further stated one comment was received in support of the Aerosol Can Rule. He added he is requesting favorable consideration of the rule revision at this time.

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Evans, seconded by Mr. Stewart, and carried unanimously that</u> <u>the Committee recommend the Board adopt the Resolution to approve the proposed</u> <u>amendments to the Rules for Hazardous Waste Management, Chapter 391-3-11.</u>

Mr. Lambert asked Mr. Mueller to continue with Item B, Proposed FY 2021 Solid Waste Trust Fund Spend Plan.

Mr. Mueller stated the Solid Waste trust fund is funded by fees on each new tire sold by tire retailers. He further stated the \$1.00 fee was reauthorized by SB 123 and extended through June 30, 2025. He added approval of the FY 2021 Spend Plan will authorize the use of \$5,788,105 from the Solid Waste Trust Fund to be used for multiple purposes, including scrap tire management and abatement; abandoned landfill closure; waste reduction and recycling; solid waste education and enforcement; and Keep Georgia Beautiful.

Mr. Mueller requested favorable consideration.

Minutes – Environmental Protection Committee August 25, 2020 Page 3

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Evans, seconded by Mr. Yancey, and carried unanimously that</u> the Committee recommend the Board adopt the Resolution to approve the Proposed FY 2020 Solid Waste Trust Fund Spend Plan, as presented.

Mr. Lambert called on Karen Hays, Chief of the Air Protection Branch, to present the Proposed Criteria for the Georgia Diesel Emissions Reduction Program, Chapter 391-3-21-.15.

Ms. Hays stated the purpose of this grant is to reduce diesel emissions that can negatively impact human health and the environment by assisting public schools with school bus replacements, with preference given to those located or operated inside ozone nonattainment or maintenance area counties. She further stated the grant is funded through the Diesel Emission Reduction Act and requires replaced school buses to be scrapped and applicants to match 75% of the funds. She added EPD will issue the first solicitation for applications within 4 months of Board approval and if funds remain after initial distribution, additional solicitations will be issued.

Ms. Hays requested favorable consideration.

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Evans, seconded by Mr. Stewart, and carried unanimously that</u> the Committee recommend the Board approve the Proposed Grant Criteria for Georgia Diesel <u>Emissions Reduction Program, Chapter 391-3-21-.15, as presented.</u>

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.