Minutes Coastal Committee

2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, S.E. Suite 1252 East Tower Atlanta, GA 30334

June 28, 2016

Attending:

Committee Members
Nancy Addison, Chair
Duncan Johnson
Bodine Sinyard
Miki Thomaston
Philip Wilheit

William Bagwell, Board Chair, ex-officio

Board Members

Dwight Davis (via conference call)

Dwight Evans
Duncan Johnson, Jr.
Ray Lambert, Jr.
Aaron McWhorter
Mark Mobley
Mike Phelps
Matt Sawhill
Paul Shailendra

Brother Stewart

<u>Guests</u>

Don Rapier, Environment Georgia

Ronny Just, Georgia Power

Jodi Killen, Devils Backbone Hunting Club

Debbie Phillips, Georgia Industry Environmental Coalition

Ross Smith, Potash Corp

Dink NeSmith, the Press-Sentinel

Grant Coyle, GSU

Chris Manganiello, Georgia River Network

David Word, Joe Tanner and Associates

Mark Woodall, Sierra Club

Truitt Eavenson, Georgia Power

Bryan Tolar, Georgia Agribusiness Council

Doug Fulle, Oglethorpe Power

Scott Tanner, Joe Tanner and Associates

Aaron Mitchell, Georgia Power

Ryan Gesser, Georgia Pacific

Lewis Massey, Massey, Watson and Hembree

Staff Members

Mark Williams
Walter Rabon
Kyle Pearson
Melanie Johnson
Wes Robinson
Cathy Barnette

Cathy Barnette Amber Carter Dave Crass Dan Forster

John Biagi John Bowers Steve Friedman Eddie Henderson

Wayne Hubbard
Spud Woodward
Terry West
Richard Dunn

Jeff Cown Chuck Mueller Doralyn Kirkland

Karen Hays Bert Langley Minutes – Coastal Committee June 28, 2016 Page 2

Russ Pennington, MWC Jonathan Harding, Georgia Agribusiness Council

The June 28, 2016 meeting of the Coastal Committee was called to order by Chairman William Bagwell.

Chairman Bagwell called on Nancy Addison, Chair of the Coastal Committee.

Ms. Addison stated that a vacancy has come up on the Coastal Marshlands Protection Committee and Shore Protection Committee due to Mr. Bert Guy's new role as Superior Court judge. Ms. Addison thanked Mr. Bert Guy for his service to the citizens of Georgia on the Coastal Marshlands Protection Committee and Shore Protection Committee.

Ms. Addison stated that there was much discussion over the need to fill this vacancy in order to ensure quorum at future meetings. She also stated that Zachary Harris of Saint Simons Island, Georgia has been recommended as a qualified candidate for service on the committee. She further stated that she recommends that the Coastal Committee request the Board appoint Zachary B. Harris of Saint Simons Island to fill the remainder of the unexpired term of Bert Guy on the Coastal Marshlands Protection Committee and Shore Protection Committee effective June 29, 2016 through December 31, 2018.

A motion was made by Mr. Wilheit, seconded by Mr. Johnson and carried unanimously that the Committee recommend that the Board appoint Zachary B. Harris to fill the vacancy of the Coastal Marshlands Protection Committee and Shore Protection Committee.

Chairman Bagwell introduced the newest Board member, Ms. Miki Thomaston and welcomed her to the Board.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.