Minutes Coastal Committee A.W. Jones Heritage Center 610 Beachview Drive St. Simons Island, GA 31522

January 26, 2018

Attending:

Committee Members

- Nancy Addison, Chair Rob Leebern, Vice Chair Bill Jones Aaron McWhorter Bodine Sinyard Miki Thomaston Philip Wilheit Dee Yancey Duncan Johnson, Jr., Board Chairman, Ex-officio
- <u>Board Members</u> William Bagwell Dwight Davis Dwight Evans Ray Lambert – Via Conference Call Mike Phelps Philip Watt

<u>Guests</u>

Ronnie Just, Georgia Power Tom Rood, CCA-GA Beth Blalock, Gilbert Harrell Sumerford & Martin Chris Woodward, Sport Fishing Magazine Roy & Ann Ditmer, Save German Village Stuart Stevenson, Save German Village Wayne Dasher, Department of Corrections Wayne Tate John Duren, Coastal Conservation Association David Kyler, Center for a Sustainable Coast Ragen Marsh, Troutman Sanders Edward Wexler, Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Katherine Bayer, Save German Village Julian Smith, Sidney Lanier Environmental Advocacy Team Hannah Smith, Sidney Lanier Environmental Advocacy Team Megan Desrosiers, One Hundred Miles

Staff Members Mark Williams, Commissioner Terry West **Kyle Pearson** Melanie Johnson Wes Robinson Cathy Barnette **Dave Crass** Rusty Garrison **Doug Haymans Eddie Henderson** Becky Kelley Steve Friedman **Richard Dunn, Director** Lauren Curry Jeff Cown Sydney Brogden Jon Ambrose **Karl Burgess Bill Donohue** Jeff Weaver **Thomas Barnard** Jill Andrews **Greg Balkom Bobby Bond** Beth Tasciotti **Paul Medders Buck Bennett** JT Bennett Dominic Guadagnoli Pat Geer Jill Andrews Linda Willis

Minutes – Coastal Committee January 26, 2018 Page 2

Bryan Tolar, Georgia Agribusiness Council Gloria Burns, Save German Village Ingrid Metz, Save German Village Ed Meadows, St. Simons Island Planning Commission Chris Thompson, Save German Village Ad Poppell, McIntosh County Patrick Zoucks, McIntosh County Scott Tanner, Joe Tanner & Associates Mark Berry, Georgia Power Bill Hodges, Hodges Harbin Newberry & Tribble

The January 26, 2018 meeting of the Coastal Committee was called to order by Chairman Johnson.

Chairman Johnson called on Nancy Addison, Chairman of the Coastal Committee.

Ms. Addison called on Doug Haymans, Director of the Coastal Resources Division, to present a briefing on Cobia.

Director Haymans stated his briefing would be about proposed amendments to the Saltwater Fishing Regulations, Chapter 391-2-4 regarding cobia fish. He stated that there was a public comment period on the amendments that went through the month of December and that notices were sent out to over 19,000 individuals as well as media sources throughout the areas affected by the proposed amendments. He added that the Coastal Resources Division did not receive any comments.

<u>A motion was made by Ms. Thomaston, seconded by Mr. Leebern, and carried unanimously that</u> <u>the committee recommend the Board approve the proposed amendments to the Saltwater Fishing</u> <u>Regulations, Chapter 391-2-4.</u>

Ms. Addison called on Professor Julian Smith to speak on the proposed CMPC/SPC (Coastal Marshland Protection Committee/Shore Protection Committee) member appointment of Mr. Chad Barrow.

Professor Julian Smith stated the professions of CMPC/SPC Board Members and commented on the nomination of Mr. Barrow to the Board.

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Jones, seconded by Mr. Yancey, and carried unanimously that the</u> <u>Coastal Committee recommend the Board approve the appointment of Mr. Chad Barrow to a four-year</u> <u>term on the Coastal Marshland Protection Committee/Shore Protection Committee, retroactively</u> <u>effective January 1, 2018.</u>

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.