Minutes Board of Natural Resources

2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, S. E. Suite 1252 East Tower Atlanta, GA 30334

January 16, 2019

Board Members

Aaron McWhorter, Chair Bodine Sinyard, Vice Chair Nancy Addison, Secretary

William Bagwell Dwight Davis Joe Hatfield

Duncan N. Johnson, Jr.

Bill Jones
Ray Lambert
Rob Leebern
Tim Lowe
Mark Mobley
Mike Phelps
Billy New
Paul Shailendr

Paul Shailendra Brother Stewart Miki Thomaston Dee Yancey

Guests

Bryan Tolar, GA Urban Agriculture Council
Chris Manganiello, Chattahoochee Riverkeepers
Debbie Phillips, GA Industry Environmental Coalition
Kevin Berry, Hodges Harbin Newberry & Tribble
Colette Williams, Georgia Department of Transportation
Carol Comer, Georgia Department of Transportation

Staff Members

Mark Williams, Commissioner

Terry West
Walter Rabon
Kyle Pearson
Melanie Johnson
Cathy Barnette
Amber Carter
Artica Gaston
Houston Webb
Thomas Barnard

Jeff Cown
Dave Crass
Steve Friedman
Rusty Garrison
Doug Haymans
John Bowers

Brittney Tellecamp

Jeff Weaver
Mark Whitney
Tina Johannsen
Charlie Killmaster
Ryan Meckel
John Bearden
Bobby Bond
Sonja Daniels
Alan Isler

Richard Dunn, Director Lauren Curry Jac Capp Karen Hays Chuck Mueller Dika Kuoh

Jim Cooley Sarah Vesser

Chairman McWhorter called the meeting of the Board of Natural Resources to order.

Chairman McWhorter called for motions to approve the following resolutions:

A motion was made by Ms. Addison, seconded by Mrs. Thomaston, and carried unanimously to approve a resolution honoring Dr. Philip Watt.

A motion was made by Mr. Johnson, seconded by Ms. Addison, and carried unanimously to approve a resolution honoring Mr. Philip A. Wilheit, Jr.

A motion was made by Mr. Johnson, seconded by Mr. Mobley, and carried unanimously to approve a resolution honoring Colonel Eddie Henderson.

A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Ms. Addison, and carried unanimously to approve a resolution honoring the late Carl W. Knobloch, Jr.

Chairman McWhorter called on Mr. Wilheit, who spoke about his time with the Board of Natural Resources and thanked the Board for honoring him with a resolution.

Chairman McWhorter called on Colonel Eddie Henderson, who thanked the board for honoring him with a resolution.

Chairman McWhorter called on Mr. Davis, Chairman of the Nominating Committee for the 2018 Board of Natural Resources Rock Howard Conservation Achievement Award.

A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Ms. Addison, and carried unanimously that the 2018 Board of Natural Resources Rock Howard Conservation Achievement Award be awarded to the late Carl W. Knobloch, Jr.

Chairman McWhorter adjourned the Board meeting and called the Committee meetings to order.

Chairman McWhorter adjourned the Committee meetings and called the Board of Natural Resources meeting to order.

Chairman McWhorter called for a motion to approve the minutes of the December 5, 2018 Board meeting.

A motion was made by Mr. Shailendra, seconded by Mr. Johnson to approve the minutes of the December 5, 2018 Board meeting. (Minutes attached hereto and made a part thereof).

Chairman McWhorter called on Rick Dunn, Director of the Environmental Protection Division, for his report.

Director Dunn updated the Board on: EPD's efforts to remove the low Reid Vapor Pressure gasoline requirement, EPA during the government shutdown, and transitioning the Particulate Lab to a third-party lab.

Chairman McWhorter called on Mark Williams, Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources, for his report.

Commissioner Williams called on Taylor Brown, the Grants Unit Supervisor for her report.

Taylor Brown updated the Board on the Land Water Conservation Fund Grant recipients.

Commissioner Williams updated the Board on the upcoming session; reminded the Board that Keeping Georgia Wild Day has been rescheduled to February 19th at the capitol; recognized the state-wide WRD meeting at Charlie Elliott.

Commissioner Williams called on Dr. David Crass, Director of the Historic Preservation Division, for his report.

Dr. Crass updated the Board on HPD's tax incentive programs.

Commissioner Williams called on Jeff Cown, Director of the State Parks and Historic Sites Division, for his report.

Director Cown updated the Board on 1st Day Hikes; Dames Ferry ribbon cutting; Super Museum Sunday.

Commissioner Williams called on Rusty Garrison, Director of the Wildlife Resources Division, for his report.

Director Garrison updated the Board on WRD's state-wide meeting; hurricane Michael response; updated the Board on the NFWF Grant; and updated the Board on all the nationally recognized WRD employees.

Chairman McWhorter called on Ray Lambert, Chairman of the Environmental Protection Committee, for his report.

A motion was made by Mr. Lambert, seconded by Mr. Leebern and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the Resolution to approve the proposed amendments to the Rules for Safe Drinking Water, Chapter 391-3-5 and Rules for Environmental Planning Criteria, Chapter 391-3-16. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

A motion was made by Mr. Lambert, seconded by Mr. Bagwell and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the Resolution to approve the proposed amendments to the Rules for Radioactive Materials, Chapter 391-3-17. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

A motion was made by Mr. Lambert, seconded by Ms. Addison and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the Resolution to approve the proposed amendments to the Rules for Air Quality Control, Chapter 391-3-1, Pertaining to Aerospace. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

A motion was made by Mr. Lambert, seconded by Mr. Yancey and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the Resolution to approve the proposed amendments to the Rules for Enhanced Inspection and Maintenance, Chapter 391-3-20. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

Chairman McWhorter called on Mr. Yancey, Chairman of the Wildlife Resources Committee, for his report.

A motion was made by Mr. Yancey, seconded by Mr. New, and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the resolution to approve the proposed amendments to hunting regulations for WMAs and other state lands. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

Chairman McWhorter called on Mr. Davis, Chairman of the Land Committee, for his report.

A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Shailendra, and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the Resolution to authorize the Commissioner to seek State Properties Commission approval to enter into a short-term agreement with Hall County or the City of Gainesville for the Lake Lanier Parcel, 1.32± acres, Hall County. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Shailendra, and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the Resolution to authorize the Commissioner to seek State Properties Commission approval to enter into an Intergovernmental Agreement with Jenkins County to install a safety fence at Magnolia Springs State Park, Jenkins County. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Shailendra, and carried unanimously that the Board adopt the Resolution to authorize the Commissioner to seek State Properties Commission approval to grant a Revocable License Agreement of 1.743± acres to Evans County by the State Properties Commission to improve Sand Pond Road at Evans County Public Fishing Area. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

Chairman McWhorter called on Mr. Lambert, Chairman of the Nominating Committee.

A motion was made by Mr. Lambert, seconded by Mr. Jones, and carried unanimously that the Board approve the following proposed slate of officers for 2019: Jeff Bodine Sinyard, Chair; Nancy Addison, Vice Chair; and Dee Yancey, Secretary.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

	Jeff Bodine Sinyard, Chairmar
TTEST:	