### **Board of Natural Resources**

2 Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive, S.E. Suite 1252 East Tower Atlanta, GA 30334

#### **Board Meeting**

April 25, 2018

# Attending:

## **Board Members**

Aaron McWhorter, Chairman Bodine Sinyard, Vice Chairman Nancy Addison, Secretary Dwight Davis Dwight Evans Duncan N. Johnson Ray Lambert Rob Leebern Mark Mobley Mike Phelps Paul Shailendra Brother Stewart Miki Thomaston Philip Wilheit Dee Yancey – VIA CONFERENCE CALL

#### <u>Guests</u>

Joe Tanner Bryan Tolar Taylor Orgeron Chris Manganello Scott Tanner Bill Hodges

### **Staff Members**

Mark Williams, Commissioner Terry West Walter Rabon Melanie Johnson Wes Robinson **Cathy Barnette** Amber Carter Matthew Smith **Dave Crass** Steve Friedman Rusty Garrison **Doug Haymans** Eddie Henderson James Hamilton Artica Gaston Jeff Weaver **Thomas Bernard** John Bowers Matt Thomas Mike England Richard Dunn, Director Lauren Curry Jac Capp Jeff Cown Karen Hays **Chuck Mueller** Laura Williams Sydney Brogden Sarah Visser Erin Ruoff Dika Kuoh Jim Cooley

The April 25, 2018 meeting of the Board of Natural Resources was called to order by Chairman Aaron McWhorter.

Chairman McWhorter called on Duncan Johnson to introduce the Public Focus speaker, Mr. Joe Tanner, Former Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources.

Mr. Johnson thanked Mr. Tanner.

Chairman McWhorter adjourned the Board Meeting to move into Committee Meetings.

Chairman McWhorter called the meeting of the Board of Natural Resources to order.

Chairman McWhorter called for a motion to approve the minutes of the March Board meeting.

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Sinyard, seconded by Mr. Wilheit, and carried unanimously</u> that the Board approve the Minutes from the March 27, 2018 Board of Natural Resources <u>Meeting.</u>

Chairman McWhorter called on Rick Dunn, Director of the Environmental Protection Division, for his report.

Director Dunn updated the Board on future rulemaking items for EPD, the 2018 legislative session, the CCR permitting program, and a 2019 budget bond item for Category II dams.

Chairman McWhorter called on Mark Williams, Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources, for his report.

Commissioner Williams provided an update on the conclusion of the 2018 legislative session and discussed the GA Outdoor Stewardship Act, also known as GOSA. Commissioner Williams stated that GOSA had a dedicated source of funding with a Trustee Board consisting of 3 House members, 3 Senate members, and others. Commissioner Williams further stated that the DNR Commissioner will chair the Trustee Board.

Commissioner Williams discussed the Helen to Hardman trail opening at Hardman State Park on April 26, 2018 and invited the attendees of the Board meeting to attend the event. Commissioner Williams called on Doug Haymans, Director of the Coastal Resources Division, for his report.

Director Haymans provided an update on shrimp season, Cobia harvesting, and the recent hosting of the Georgia Beach Resilience Summit.

Commissioner Williams called on Dave Crass, Director of the Historical Preservation Division, for his report.

Director Crass provided an update on the new Army Corps archaeologists and mentioned that staff turnover has slowed some projects and that HPD will be helping to train the new archaeologists.

Director Crass gave a report on the first module of the Leadership Academy and stated that he was working with WRD-fisheries to develop some metrics regarding promotions/retention so HPD can better track effectiveness.

Director Crass mentioned the new Certified Local Government Coordinators at HPD and added that Georgia has more CLGs than any other state.

Commissioner Williams called on Eddie Henderson, Director of the Law Enforcement Division, for his report.

Colonel Henderson provided updates on the Hunting Incident Academy, tag sales, the LED hiring update, and the Turkey Team Up initiative.

Colonel Henderson congratulated Sgt. Derek Dillard for receiving the Homer Moe Award from IHEA-USA.

Commissioner Williams called on James Hamilton, Assistant Director of the Parks, Recreation, and Historic Sites Division, for his report.

Mr. Hamilton provided updates on site specific camping transitions, PRHSD revenue, and the rollout of new division training software.

Mr. Hamilton shared a video with the Board of a news broadcast highlighting Providence Canyon State Park.

Commissioner Williams called on Rusty Garrison, Director of the Wildlife Resources Division, for his report.

Director Garrison discussed the recent boat ramp dedication at Sutton's Landing.

Director Garrison shared the report from the ongoing 2018 turkey season and shared a report on fishing in 2018 so far.

Director Garrison shared a report on nongame animals.

Chairman McWhorter called on Dwight Davis for the Land Committee report.

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Johnson, and carried unanimously</u> that the Board approve the Acquisition (purchase) of 139.3± acres of real property, Dawson Forest Wildlife Management Area, Davison Tract, Dawson County. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Ms. Addison, and carried unanimously</u> that the Board approve the Acquisition (purchase) of 51.28± acres of real property, Cloudland <u>Canyon State Park, Drummond Tract, Dade County.</u> (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Shailendra, and carried unanimously that the Board grant a Revocable License Agreement and Permanent Easement of up to 0.449± acres by the State Properties Commission and General Assembly to Flint Energies at Flat Creek public Fishing Area, Houston County. (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

<u>A motion was made by Mr. Davis, seconded by Mr. Shailendra, and carried unanimously</u> <u>that the Board request approval via Executive Order to demolish the Red Top Mountain State</u> <u>Park Beach Building, Bartow County.</u> (Resolution attached hereto and made a part thereof)

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

ATTEST:

Aaron McWhorter, Chairman

Nancy A. Addison, Secretary